Yoga.in Logo

Elevate Consciousness by activating the Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Bhramari Pranayama, often referred to as the “Bee Breath,” is a calming and meditative breathing exercise in yoga. This technique involves producing a humming sound during exhalation, which is believed to have soothing effects on the nervous system. Here’s a detailed process on how to perform Bhramari Pranayama

The Crown Chakra Basics

Sahasrara, meaning “thousand-petaled,” is aptly named, symbolising the infinite possibilities and connections to the divine that unfold when this chakra is activated. Located at the top of the head, it radiates a pure violet or white light, signifying the unity of all colours and the culmination of spiritual awakening. 

Location: At the crown of the head. 

Colour: Violet/White, representing purity, unity, and the full spectrum of spiritual light. 

Element: Thought, symbolising the transcendent nature of pure consciousness. 

1) Connection to the Divine: 

Sahasrara serves as the gateway to divine consciousness, fostering a deep connection to the universal source. 

 2) Unity and Oneness: 

This chakra transcends individual identity, emphasising the oneness of all creation and the interconnectedness of all life. 

 3) Spiritual Enlightenment: 

Sahasrara is the seat of spiritual enlightenment, offering access to higher states of awareness and divine wisdom. 

 4) Pure Consciousness: 

As the highest energy centre, the Crown Chakra represents pure consciousness beyond the limitations of the ego and individuality. 

1) Disconnected Spirituality: 

An underactive Crown Chakra may manifest as a lack of spiritual connection, feeling disconnected from a higher purpose. 

 2) Closed-Mindedness: 

Imbalances can lead to rigid thinking, closed-mindedness, and resistance to new ideas or spiritual concepts. 

 3) Ego Dominance: 

An overactive Sahasrara may result in spiritual arrogance, detachment from earthly realities, and neglect of practical aspects of life. 

1) Meditation and Silence: 

Engage in regular meditation, focusing on the stillness within and opening yourself to divine guidance. 

 2) Mindful Contemplation: 

Reflect on spiritual teachings and contemplate the deeper meanings of existence to elevate your consciousness. 

 3) Connect with Universal Energy: 

Spend time in nature, connecting with the universal energy that surrounds you to harmonize your energy with the divine. 

1) Savasana (Corpse Pose): 

Facilitates deep relaxation and connection to the divine by surrendering the physical body. 

 2) Padmasana (Lotus Pose): 

A classic meditation pose that aligns the energy centres and opens the Crown Chakra to receive spiritual energy. 

 3) Sirsasana (Headstand): 

Inversion poses like headstands bring energy to the crown of the head, awakening higher consciousness. 

 4) Viparita Karani (Legs Up the Wall Pose): 

Encourages a gentle flow of energy toward the head, promoting relaxation and spiritual receptivity. 


Embarking on the journey into the ethereal realms of the Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) opens the doors to spiritual enlightenment, unity, and the pure consciousness that resides within. Through the practice of yoga, meditation, and a deep connection to the divine, you can cultivate and strengthen Sahasrara, elevating your consciousness to new heights. May your exploration of the Crown Chakra be a transformative and enlightening journey, guiding you toward a profound understanding of your divine essence and interconnectedness with the universe. 

Scroll to Top